Nominees for the Poker Hall of Fame announced

Nominees for the Poker Hall of Fame announced

hall of fame
Who will be inducted this year?

The shortlist for the 2021 Poker Hall of Fame has just been announced.&nbsp

Eli Elezra, Antonio Esfandiari, Chris Ferguson, Ted Forrest, Mike Matusow, Matt Savage and Isai Scheinberg are all when once again in the operating to win the award this year.&nbspBertrand ‘ElkY’ Grospellier, Michael Mizrachi and the late Layne Flack are all producing their 1st appearance on the shortlist.&nbsp

The criteria, as always, is as follows:

  • A player need to have played poker against acknowledged leading competitors
  • Played for high stakes
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played consistently nicely, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the all round growth and accomplishment of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Many of the individuals on the shortlist this year have been deemed the ‘favourite’ to win it several occasions over, but are however to get the award. Isai Scheinberg, the founder of PokerStars, is possibly the 1 nominee most passionately argued in favour of each year. Layne Flack sadly passed away this year and was drastically loved by the poker community, especially no doubt by a lot of the panel of the Poker Hall of Fame, he also has six WSOP bracelets on his record.&nbsp

It is nice to see a European on the list in the type of ElkY but if you have been betting on a very first timer to win it, the sensible cash is possibly on Mizrachi because of his WSOP pedigree, he has 5 WSOP bracelets which includes two Players Championship titles. Possessing said that, this writer thinks Isai Scheinberg will ultimately have his case produced by the panel and be the 2021 inductee.&nbsp

When once more it will be just 1 inductee this year and they will be announced at the final table of the Principal Occasion which is at the exact same time as the initial ever Hall of Fame Bounty occasion. The inductee will be decided by a panel of the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame who each have 10 points to award to each and every nominee.&nbsp

Who do you think deserves it this year? Let us know in the comments:

Read More