Nominations for 3rd Global Poker Awards Announced

Nominations for 3rd Global Poker Awards Announced

The 3rd International Poker Awards will take spot on February 18 at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas.

Soon after two rounds of voting by each a voting panel consisting of poker business insiders, poker media and fans alike, the nominations for the 3rd Global Poker Awards have been finalized. The ceremony, which requires place at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas on Friday, February 18, will hand out 26 awards in a range of categories, like 3 People’s Decision awards determined solely by the fans.

The field of finalist contains plenty of poker’s largest stars including Doug Polk, Michael Addamo, Ali Imsirovic, Daniel Cates, Lex Veldhuis, and Brad Owen. Polk also leads the list of those with several nominations, a choose group that characteristics Imsirovic, Cates, Jeff Platt, Joe Stapleton, Jamie Kerstetter, and Johan ‘YoH ViraL’ Guilbert.

Three of the winners have previously been announced with Imsirovic earning the 2021 GPI Player of the Year Awards, Nadya Magnus taking house the 2021 Female Player of the Year Awards, and David Mzareulov claiming the inaugural 2021 Mid-Major Player of the Year awards.

And the 2021 GPA nominees are…

Greatest FINAL TABLE Efficiency

  • Koray Aldemir – WSOP Principal Occasion
  • Jeremy Ausmus – WSOP PLO Higher Roller
  • Daniel Cates – WSOP $50K Poker Players Championship
  • Adam Friedman – WSOP $10K Dealer’s Decision 6-Max

As usual, the World Series of Poker had an extraordinary impact on the poker globe this year with some of the most gripping moments coming out of the series. Aldemir’s domination of the WSOP Main Occasion, Cates epic comeback from on big blind in the $50K PPC, and Friedman’s back-to-back-to-back $10K Dealer’s Decision titles are all history-making performances.


  • Chris Brewer
  • Kyna England
  • Johan Guilbert
  • Vanessa Kade


  • Michael Addamo
  • Stephen Chidwick
  • Ali Imsirovic
  • David Peters

4 of the toughest high-roller players on the planet make this an intimidating category. Chidwick won this award at the final awards, Imsirovic is the 2021 GPI Player of the Year and PokerGO Tour 2021 Player of the Year, and David Peters is the 2021 U.S. Poker Open champ and sits fifth on the Hendon Mob’s All-Time Money List.

That said, no one particular truly came close to Michael Addamo in 2021 and all eyes will be on him as the favored.

TWITTER Personality


The poker world is in a golden era of on-line streaming where not only can an individual learn the game speedily and more affordable than ever, but can turn into a part of a community helmed by one particular of their favored poker personalities. The strength of these nominations is only bolstered by a long list of good quality streamers who are not integrated.

Greatest VLOGGER

Very best Industry Person

  • Tony Burns
  • Jack Effel
  • Mori Eskandani
  • Matt Savage


  • Paul Campbell
  • Justin Hammer
  • Ray Pulford
  • Andy Tilman

Best Event

  • Seminole Tough Rock Rock ’N’ Roll Open Opening Occasion
  • World Series of Poker Main Event
  • Wynn Mystery Bounty
  • Wynn Millions

The Wynn showing up twice on this list is a nod to how the Las Vegas poker area took a giant leap forward this year in stepping up for the tournament community in the face of the pandemic. But know that the Seminole Tough Rock in Hollywood, Florida has also been producing waves when it comes to must-play events. In order to win, a single of them will have to usurp the event that numerous, year-in and year-out, capture the hearts of poker players from all over the globe – the WSOP Main Event.

Very best PODCAST


  • Jamie Kerstetter
  • Ali Nejad
  • Jeff Platt
  • Joe Stapleton

Yet another can not miss category with Kerstetter as the emerging voice on the WSOP broadcast, Jeff Platt shining as the WSOP’s sideline reporter, and commentary vets Ali Nejad and Joe Stapleton consistently delivering the goods whenever they are on the air.

Greatest Reside REPORTER

  • Merom ‘Mickey’ Doft
  • Timothy Duckworth
  • Chad Holloway
  • Christian Zetszche

Very best MEDIA Content: WRITTEN

Study all of the nominated stories – such as and especially Lance Bradley’s piece on PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg for PocketFives – at the hyperlinks above. (Except for Rabin’s piece which is behind a paywall.)

Greatest MEDIA Content: PHOTO

  • Antonio Abrego: Adam Friedman Defeats Phil Hellmuth for 3rd straight WSOP 10K Dealer’s Choice Title
  • Hayley Hochstetler: The End of an Era
  • Enrique Malfavon: The WSOP Major Event Bubble Bursts
  • Danny Maxwell: Brandon Shack-Harris and his Umbrella at WSOP

Best MEDIA Content: VIDEO

Watch all of the nominated videos at the hyperlinks above.

FANS Choice: Greatest HAND

There were a number of wonderful hands captured reside this year and which of the above (which you can view) you enjoy the most depends on if you like pleasure or discomfort. For those who enjoy becoming the hero, Polk’s hero fold and Rigby’s bluff are the stuff poker dreams of are produced of. On the opposite side, the pain inflicted on Leng and Chang Liu, is some of the most memorable of the year.

FANS Choice: Best TROPHY

  • Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup
  • MSPT South Dakota State Championship
  • Seminole Difficult Rock Poker Open Championship
  • WPTDeepstacks Gold Coast

FANS Decision: POKER Personality

  • Johan ‘YoH ViraL’ Guilbert
  • Greg ‘Greg Goes All In’ Liow
  • Jonathan Small
  • Masato Yokosawa

Fans have till Wednesday, January 26th to vote for their preferred Poker Character, even if they voted in the first round.

Read More